• path2change

Feeding Our Chakras Part I

(Excerpted from “Healing at the Vortex”, Saundra Berry, C.Ht.)

Chakras are points of spiritual power, vortexes of energy. Our Chakras run up and down our spiritual bodies. Although they are considered the linking points along the central nervous system, at glands and organs; they cannot be seen by the naked eye but they are very powerful, all the same. We all hold our vital energy, our prana, our life force, within our Chakra System. We are constantly picking up energy from those around us, our environment, food, even the energy of our thoughts effect our chakras.

Although there are many aspects of balancing your Chakra System, for the purpose of this writing I am going to concentrate on food, spices, and herbs, "Feeding Your Chakras"..

There are seven major Chakras residing in each of us beginning at the base of the spine and working up to the crown of our heads. Please see the diagram.

Diagram - Bottom to Top:

1. Root Chakra - Red

2. Sacral Chakra - Orange

3. Solar Plexus Chakra - Yellow

4. Heart Chakra - Green

5. Throat Chakra - Blue

6. Third Eye/Brow Chakra - Indigo

7. Crown Chakra – Purple

The Root Chakra - is the place where it all begins. The energy flows from the root Chakra, upward to the other Chakras. When the Root Chakra is balanced and in the proper vibrational alignment, we will feel more grounded, centered, and focused. We feel more energetic and more able to cope with day-to-day stress.

The key word in this Chakra is ROOT, just as roots grow from a tree, we are placing roots deep into the earth in order to be and feel fully supported by the universe. So, we want to make sure that we are nourishing our ROOT Chakra properly if we want to keep the rest of our Chakras balanced.

Feeding Your Root Chakra ~ the Grounding Chakra

Start by adding in more root vegetables such as carrots, potatoes, onions, garlic and add protein-rich foods such as eggs, beans, tofu, and peanut butter. Lastly, adding spices like horseradish, hot paprika, and chives to your daily diet will help keep the Root Chakra balanced.

The Sacral Chakra - Known as our pleasure center this chakra represents creative expression, feelings, emotions, sexuality, rejuvenation, challenges and our ability to be emotionally balanced. When the Sacral Chakra is balanced, creativity and self-expression are free-flowing, and we are more emotionally balanced, we can face our challenges with courage and strength and become open to give and receive pleasure.

Feeding Your Sacral Chakra ~ Nourishing the Sexual/Creativity Center

Nourish the Sacral Chakra by eating more sweet fruits such as melons, strawberries, passion fruit, oranges, and honey along with nuts such as almonds and walnuts. Finally, adding spices such as cinnamon, vanilla, carob, and sesame seeds to your diet will assist in keeping your Sacral Chakra balanced.

The Solar Plexus Chakra - This Chakra represents self esteem, self-confidence, self-respect, mental clarity, and courage; acting as an energy-clearing center. When the Solar Plexus Chakra is balanced, a person will be respectful of self and others, humorous, spontaneous and embrace their own personal power. We also have a sense of mental clarity that allows you to feel optimistic and in control of life.

Feeding Your Solar Plexus Chakra ~ Boosting Self-Esteem

and Encouraging Self Love

Add granola and grains such as pastas, breads, cereal, rices, flax seed, and sunflower seeds along with dairy like milk, cheeses, and yogurt to nurture the Solar Plexus Chakra . Lastly, adding spices such as ginger, mints melissa, chamomile, and cumin will assist in keeping your Solar Plexus Chakra balanced.

To learn more about this amazing CHAKRA SYSTEM, get my new book, “HEALING AT THE VORTEX”, A Complete Guide to Balancing and Maintaining your Chakras.


Many Bright Blessings!





©2014 Saundra Berry, C.Ht. All rights reserved. Please do not copy, use or distribute this information in part but in its entirety only, including the source Thank you!

#chakras #healing


Recent Posts

See All